Thursday, December 19, 2013

Astoria Membership Sales Pitch

Every year my wife and I celebrate our wedding anniversary out of town because we want to make it special.

This year, we visited the Island of Boracay together with our kids.  Our flight was in the afternoon so we arrived in Boracay and checked in to our hotel around 7pm. Because we were all tired of the long travel, we  decided to stay in our hotel and rest that night.

The next day, we hit the beach at around 6 in the morning, our kids was so excited to swim. While we were enjoying the white sand and crystal clear water of the island, a man (Allan) in his late 30s approached us offering free buffet for lunch at Astoria Boracay Resort. He told us that after the buffet there will be a tour in their resort because it is a newly opened hotel in Bora. We said yes since it’s free and a tour to their hotel is okay because we were planning to go back in May 2013 with my in-laws.

Around 9:00AM, we decided to take a walk along the shores from station 2 where we were staying to station 1. We stayed there for a while, swimming and taking pictures. We were already hungry at that time so we took a light meal because it’s almost lunch. We went back to our hotel at around 10:45am to rest and prepare for lunch; however, our kids fell asleep so we decided not to go to Astoria. Pass 11:00am, we received a call from Allan advising us that the buffet is ready. We told them we will go when the kids woke up before 1:00PM.

We missed the free buffet lunch because we woke up past 1:00PM. While we were at the beach again, another man approached us again offering us free buffet dinner. We told him that we already got an invitation from Allan but we missed it. He said that it is still valid; we can still go there and look for Allan. Later that afternoon the latter called us again informing us that we were already registered for the free buffet dinner. We decided to go, but my wife told me there might be a catch. I was not thinking of anything but I told her maybe it’s just really part of their promotion to show us the resort so we can recommend it to our friends and families.

We had to walk for a few minutes to reach Astoria because it is located in station 1. When we got there, Allan immediately assisted and brought us inside the resort. The place is beautiful, they have swimming pool with lights that changes colors. We never really stop by at any place in the resort; we were like just passing by the resort. Allan brought us to a nearby building he said that it is the resort’s conference room. When we entered the buffet area, he arranged the table for us and introduced us to his manager telling us there will be a 90-min orientation after dinner. There also other guests like us who also got invited for a free dinner.

We ate after the short introductions. The food was great, and we liked the desert .

The Presentation. While we were eating a guy approached us introduced himself as Albert the facilitator. After eating we told Albert that we are ready. So he guided through another room filled with other people like us. The room was very noisy, people laughing out loud and speaking on the top of their lungs, specially the girl (facilitator) on the other table just right behind us. He laughs like Kitkat (comedian) and talks very loud (annoying). Also another guy facilitator who laughs so loud you can tell that he was faking it. Albert was also lively but not as much as those I mentioned. He told us just pretend it was only us in the room. 

The Catch. The presentation started around 8:00PM. Albert introduced the company and the TV endorser (Boy Abunda).  He asked us about our plans of travelling in the future and how often we travel in a year. He asked about the places we’ve been to for the past years as a couple.  Computed how much we spend for travels. Then he pitched about the membership program that they offer. There are times that he would ask us questions that would really annoy us. At some point, my wife would answer direct to the point (with a tone of sarcasm). She was the one answering most of the questions because I was taking care of my daughter who was sleeping already on my lap. He asked us many times what factor would stop us from signing up for the membership. We answered a lot of times that it’s the money. Then we would ask him how much, but he never gave any amount which really pisses us off. We told him if our budget would allow it we will sign up otherwise no. He seems to be not satisfied with our answer. He really wanted to make sure that we will sign up but could not give us how much we need to pay.

The Offer. He then called his manager to talk to us about the offer. Gave us three options Studio, 2 Bedroom and 1 Bedroom. We picked 1 Bedroom, then he quoted us PhP11,000/month. He is also asking for a deposit to be paid that night or issue a check. We told him we can’t do it. Then he offered us a Studio Unit, it’s still too much for us, we said NO. The manager then said okay and turned us over to our facilitator. He (facilitator) gave us another option, convincing just give it a try for a year, because first two offer was payable in 30 years. Now you see why we declined the offers.  After more than 90-minute presentation we got really tired. The facilitator asked for referrals and feedback about the presentation. We told him he’s okay but be straight forward next time and stop beating around the bush. We also told him that the room was very noisy.

Lesson Learned. I want to say thank you for the free buffet but I’ll pass next time and say “NO, Thank You.”

Purpose. I am sharing this to let other people know and warn them about this kind of hard selling scheme. I have searched the internet and I’ve seen a lot of blogs, writings about it and I have seen many negative feedbacks about their experiences. I don’t know if Boy Abunda has also experienced this kind of presentation. Maybe not. This is not in any way trying to ruin anyone’s reputation but I am just sharing my experiences and opinion on how the company presented itself to me.

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Globe Wimax Complaints...continuous nightmare

Its been a little over two months ago since I cancelled my Globe Wimax Landline and Internet service.  Up until now I have not received a bill about the cancellation fee.  However, they started sending me text messages through under the name MS. CRUZ, threatening to take legal actions if I will not pay the termination to INNOVE amounting to P5,000 plus.

Who in his right mind would pay such amount for something that was not right from the start. Did MS. CRUZ know the reason I cancelled my service? May I remind you that it was Globe's inability to provide me services, which is why I cancelled my account? Or MS. CRUZ is just someone who is trying to make a commission if she was able to collect from me.

Well I am not afraid of legal threats and being blacklisted from Globe, I dont need their poor service anyway.

I think I should be the one taking legal actions against Globe and MS. CRUZ for harassing me. If it would be because of their poor customer service, I would still be a their customer by now. But then again they lost a potential loyal customer.

I have been with SmartBro for 6 years before I switch to Globe, because I wanted to have bundle service. I guess I made a huge mistake switching from SmartBro.

Friday, April 19, 2013

Globe WiMax Nightmare.... Worst customer service.

I just want to share my experience with Globe Telecom. I have sent a copy of this letter to Globe Telecom and specifically addresed it to Mr. Ernest L. Cu. Hoping for a fair resolution....

Hi sir, 

I recently cancelled my service due to numerous problems I have encountered with your service/company from day one. Allow me to enumerate my bad experiences with your company. Worst experience I've had so far with any companies.

November of 2012, I ordered service from one of your field agents. Promised me a FREE installation fee under project Firefly with 6 months 20% discount. 

1. Free Installation not true! Called cust service and got a adjustment but I paid more than half of the installation fee. 

2. Landline service which is part of of the bundled service, not working?!! Called cust service and I was told there is ongoing network issue. NO LANDLINE SERVICE to date.

3. Service was disconnected two times even after I paid the full amount at your service center in SM Molino. 

First was on 2/13/13 payment was made 1/26/13, I had to send you a proof of payment which was after 18 days after from payment, had to wait to get my service restored even though  paid. 

Second disconnection was on  3/4/13, when I called I was told payment was posted already but you disconnected it anyway. Very convenient ha? 

4. On 3/27/13 I could not connect to any web site, was told I will get an on site visit on 3/30/13 due to holidays, I was given a job order. Only to find out that i was not scheduled. I talked to IAN supervisor told me he will try to find an available tech but to no avail. He asked me if i was available on sunday I told him NO. Said he will call me back. I didnt receive any callback.

5. Sunday 3/31/13, I received missed calls from the tech, I called him back told him to schedule the next afternoon, he said yes. An hour after I received a call from one of your specialists asked if I was contacted by the tech, I said yes and informed him about the schedule for 4/1/13. He immediately said thats fine and he will notate my account. 

6. Monday 4/1/13, afternoon.. no call yet from the tech. so I called him to confirm the appointment , he said he is no longer assigned to me. So I called customer service to confirm was told by stewart garcia that there was no schedule and he show that the schedule is for 4/2/13. I asked to speak with his supervisor. Paulo told me that he will try to find an available tech that day but again there is none. Told him i will just wait for the schedule on 4/2/13. 

7. Tuesday 4/2/13, afternoon.. Still no call from the tech. I called and spoke with a girl named Vone, who hung up on me and refused to let me speak with her supervisor. Told me there is a network but she was referring to my phone not the internet, i told her to check my account again, then she realize i was calling for the internet and she told me there is a system issue as well. She also told me the onsite visit was cancelled because of that. She told me that she will coordinate again to get a schedule when she just me there was a system network issue. So i asked for her supervisor she said the name was Cliff Ayab. She said was engage to call so he cannot talk to me. I told her i will wait, i was on the phone for 40 mins by that time..then she disconnected the call. I was so furious!!

Today.... I called and requested to cancel my account permanently after all the problems I have experience. No Landline and No internet both with networks issues? I asked her to waive the termination fee due to my experience with the company, she denied my request. Refused to let me speak with her supervisor, said I will be told the same thing.

I do not agree with any the termination fee! I will NOT pay for it. Provide me the service i am paying for and i will continue my service with you.  I also have postpaid mobile account with you under my wife's name nearing the end of contact and we will not hesitate to cancel if you charge us a termination fee. Please help. If you could waive the termination fee, I will be a customer again once the network issue in my area is resolved or when you offer DSL in my area.

Cyberguy (I put my real name on my complaint letter)


Antenna                                                          Modem                                                

Globe WiMax Handset

After a 24 hours, I receive their reply... Here it goes...

Dear Mr. Cyberguy,
We are saddened by your intent to terminate your line subscription and regret that we were not able to provide satisfactory service. We sincerely apologize for the service gap you have experienced and for the inconvenience it has caused.
In order for us to process your request for termination, kindly send us the necessary documents (scanned copy). Please be informed that there is a corresponding termination fee if your account is under contract and request must come from the registered subscriber. With regards to your concern termination fee I’ll be taking note of your concern for further evaluation of our support group.
For account holder’s personal request and transaction:
·         Valid ID
·         Letter of request for termination with ballpoint signature - Kindly indicate your reason for termination.
·         Active contact number
If subscriber authorized another person to transact on his/her behalf:
·         Authorization letter with ballpoint signature of account holder/ letter of request for termination with ballpoint signature - Please indicate the reason for termination.
·         Valid IDs of account holder and authorized person.
·         Active contact number
Should you need further assistance, you may reach us through any of the following channels:
Globe Facebook Fan Page:
@talk2GLOBE on Twitter:
Roaming Hotline: +6327301212 - toll-free using a Globe postpaid mobile phone number or *131*6327301212# using a Globe prepaid mobile phone number (regular roaming rates shall apply).
Or through our hotline: 211 (toll-free via Globe mobile, min. load balance of P7.50 for prepaid) or (02) 730-1000 (toll-free via any Globe landline nationwide, toll-free within Metro Manila using other landline network carrier. Regular rates will apply using other landline network carrier outside Metro Manila).
Robert B.
Globe Telecom Customer Service


Wow! Super Canned response. They did not seem to read my letter in full or the agent did not understand my letter. Well it says lot about how they do business.

Update: Last Friday (4/5/2013) the modem was picked up, we still have the phone unit and their antenna. I am still waiting for them to pick it up. Should I just put them in the garbage?